JK Tyre presents Rally of Arunachal 2023, ignite Dambuk with Orange Festival of Adventure & Music

Nestled within the awe-inspiring landscapes of Arunachal Pradesh, where sinuous roads beckon adventure enthusiasts, JK Tyre presents Rally of Arunachal 2023, a collaborative effort between the JK Tyre, Department of Youth Affairs, the Government of Arunachal Pradesh, Motorsports Club of Arunachal and the Army Wives Welfare Association of the Spear Corps of the Indian Army, seamlessly intertwined the thrill of motorsports with the natural wonders and cultural richness of the region. In sync with the renowned Orange Festival of Adventure and Music, in its eighth edition, the rally commenced under the auspices of the honourable Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh, Shri Pema Khandu, marking the evening of December 14th as the inauguration. “Our partnership with the Indian Army and JK Tyre has meant a great deal. The rally would help in further boosting tourism in the state,” said Shri Khandu.

From December 14th to 16th, an extraordinary spectacle unfolded as 28 teams participated in the TSD (Time, Speed and Distance) style rally by taking the wheel, fearlessly navigating the challenging 400-kilometer route through the picturesque districts of Lohit, Lower Dibang Valley, Dibang Valley, and Namsai. This rare rally not only showcased the skill and prowess of the drivers but also unfolded against the backdrop of Arunachal Pradesh’s breath-taking scenery. This is the first time a TSD Rally was organised in Arunchal Pradesh which had a strong participation from Army wives along with their husbands. The teams navigated through the challenging and adventures route to reach the finish line.

Mr. Sanjay Sharma, Head-Motorsports, JK Tyre, said, “Our association with the North East goes back to over a decade. We are thankful to the Government of Arunachal Pradesh for their constant support in helping us in our endeavour to promote motorsport in the State. The Rally of Arunachal witnessed participation from Army Wives and it was heartening to see women take to the wheels to experience the thrill of motorsport.”

The rally was flagged off from the historic district of Lohit, inviting participants to embrace the tranquil ambiance and savor the flavors of seasonal fruits, including the renowned oranges and pineapples. The expedition continued through Lower Dibang, a district known for its pristine air and untouched greenery, providing a refreshing experience for both drivers and spectators.

As the rally slowed down in Dibang Valley, participants seized the opportunity to explore the namesake Dibang Wildlife Sanctuary, a haven for rare and rich wildlife. Notably, in the 2000s, a new species of flying squirrel was discovered in this district, adding a touch of discovery to the adventure. The journey culminated in Namsai, nestled along the banks of the river Teang, where participants enjoyed a final rendezvous with the magnificent golden Pagoda.

This year’s Rally of Arunachal signifies JK Tyre’s ninth year of partnership with the State of Arunachal Pradesh, providing a platform for the state’s motorsports aficionados. Since the founding of the annual Orange Festival of Adventure & Music, in 2014, the brand has been associated with it through its highly anticipated JK Tyre Orange 4×4 Fury off-roading championship. The competition tests the skills of participants against nature while traversing through gruelling obstacles in the tricky terrains of Arunachal Pradesh.

The JK Tyre presents Rally of Arunachal was held in three categories and the winners are as follows:

Overall Sub-Event
·       Neeraj Kumar and co-driver Ashish Deshwal (Winner)
·       Amrinder Singh and co-driver Rangeet Singh (Runner-Up)
·       Maj Jaya Mehta and c-driver Gulshan Mehta (Second Runner-up)
·       Saurab Bisht and co-driver Prashant Kumar (Third runner-up)
·       Amardeep Kaur and co-driver Jyoti Yadav (Fourth runner-up)

All-Women Rally
·       Maj. Jaya Mehta and co-driver Gulshan Mehta (Winner)
·       Amandeep Kaur and co-driver Jyoti Yadav (Runner-up)
·       Sneha Taneja and co-driver Mahesh Taneja (Second runner-up)

The Outstanding Army Cup

* Neeraj Kumar and co-driver Ashish Deshwal